top of page


Caldecott Medal

Most Distinguished American Picture Book

The Randolph Caldecott Medal, frequently shortened to just the Caldecott, annually recognizes the preceding year's "most distinguished American picture book for children." The award is presented to the illustrator by the Association for Library Service to Children. 

Yes we have picture books in a high school library (find out why here)! Check out the official Caldecott Medal website for the complete list of the award winners and nominees.

Some Caldecott Medal winners and nominees you can find in the library:

The Adventures of Beekle: An Unimaginary Friend by Dan Sanat

One Cool Friend by David Small

Creepy Carrots! by Peter Brown

The Invention of Hugo Cabaret by Brian Selzenick

The Polar Express by Chris Van Allsburg

Make Way for Ducklings by Robert McCloskey

Canadian Library Association

Young Adult Canadian Book Award

The CLA's Young Adult Canadian Book Award recognizes an outstanding English language Canadian work of fiction (novel, collection of short stories, graphic novel) that appeals to young adults between the ages of 13 and 18.

Here's the complete winners list!

Some CLA winners you can find in our library:

This One Summer by Mariko and Jillian Tamaki

All Good Children by Catherine Austen

Half Brother by Kenneth Oppel

There Will Be Wolves by Karleen Bradford

Coretta Scott King Award

Outstanding African-American Authors

The Coretta Scott King Awards are given out annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values. There are three different awards: The Winner, The Honour, and The John Steptoe Award for New Talent.

Find the full list of Coretta Scott King Award winners here!

Some Coretta Scott King Award winners you can find in the library:

New Kid by Jerry Craft

Genesis Begins Again by Alicia D. Williams

Stuff of Stars by Ekua Holmes

Monday's Not Coming by Tiffany D. Jackson

Long Way Down by Jason Reynolds

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

The Eisner Award

Outstanding Comics and Graphic Novels

The Will Eisner Comic Industry Award are given to creative achievement in comic books and graphic novels. Sometimes referred to as the "Comic Book Oscars," the awards are presented annually at the San Diego Comic Con in July. There are 31 different categories in which awards are presented.

You can find the very long, full list of award winners here!

Some Eisner Award Winners you can find in the library are:

Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up With Me by Mariko Tamaki

Guts by Raina Telgemeier

They Called Us Enemy by George Takai

Paper Girls by Brian K. Vaughan

Nimona by Noelle Stevenson

Watchmen by Alan Moore

Blankets by Craig Thompson

The National Book Award

Celebrating the best literature in America, expand its audience, and ensure that books have a prominent place in American culture.

The National Book Awards are presented to one book (author) annually in each of five categories: fiction, non-fiction, poetry, translation, and young people's literature. 

You can find past award winners here!

Here are some National Book Award winners, finalists, and longlist nomineees you can find in our library:

The Poet X by Elizabeth Agevedo

Hey, Kiddo by Jarrett J. Krosoczka

March (book 3) by John Lewis

Far From the Tree by Robin Benway

I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter by Erica L. Sanchez

Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part Time Indian by Sherman Alexie

Newbery Medal

The most distinguished contribution to American literature for children

Established in 1922, the John Newbery Medal is the first children's book award in the world and recognizes one American author annually and their contributions to literature for children and young adults. The winner of the Newbery Medal is awarded a bronze medal and the bronze medallion is printed on the cover of their books. The 'runners up' are considered Newbery Honor winners and a silver medallion is printed on the cover of their books.

The full list of Newbery Medal winners can be found here.

Some Newbery Medal winners and honor winners you can find in the library are:

New Kid by Jerry Craft

Genesis Begins Again by Alicia D. Williams

The Crossover by Kwame Alexander

El Deafo by Cece Bell

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

Norma Fleck Award

Award for the most exceptional Canadian Children's Non-Fiction book of the year

The Norma Fleck Award for Canadian Children’s Non-Fiction is named after Dr. Jim Fleck’s mother, Norma Marie Byrnes (1906-1982), who fostered a love of reading in her children and grandchildren. The award recognizes exceptional Canadian non-fiction children's books.

The full list of Norma Fleck Award finalists and winners can be found here.

The following Norma Fleck Award and finalist titles can be found in our library:

Go Show The World: A Celebration of Indigenous Heroes by Wab Kinew

#NotYourPrincess: Voices of Native American Women by Lisa Charleyboy and Mary Beth Leatherdale

Child Soldier: When Boys and Girls are Used in War by Jessica Dee Humphreys

From Vimy to Victory: Canada's Fight to the Finish in World War I by Hugh Brewster

Michael L. Printz Award

For Excellence in Young Adult Literature

Michael L. Printz was a school librarian from Kansas who was passionate about connecting young adults to literature. He initiated an author-in-residence program at his high school, further fostering a connection between teens and literature. The award recognizes books written for teens that exhibit literary merit.

The full list of Michael L. Printz award winners can be found on their website here.

Some recent Michael L. Printz award winners that you can find in our library are:

The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo

We are Okay by Nina LaCour

March by John Lewis

I'll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

Looking for Alaska by John Green

Stonewall Book Award

Exceptional merit in literature relating to LGBTQIA+ experience 

Established in 1971, the Stonewall Book Awards honour books written by and about the experience of LGBTQIA+ people throughout the world. The awards are divided into three categories, with books written for children and young adults receiving the Mike Morgan and Larry Romans Children and Young Adult award.

The full list of Stonewall Book Award winners and honoured nominees can be found on their website here.

Some Stonewall Award recipients and nominees found in our library are:

Like a Love Story by Abdi Nazemian

The 57 Bus by Dashka Slater

The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee

Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard: Hammer of Thor by Rick Riordan

If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo

George by Alex Gino

Morris Micklewhite and the Tangerine Dress by Christina Baladaccio

Fat Angie by E. Charlton-Trujillo

bottom of page