Databases

All district subscription databases require a username and password for access from outside of the school.

Please contact Ms. Caines for access.

What is a Subscription Database?

A subscription database is a one-stop-shop for quality resources not found through a Google search. These can include journal articles, newspapers, magazines, images, documents, and more. Databases are easily searched and the search results can be sorted by date, readability, or type of source.

EBSCO Databases

EBSCO offers a number of subscription databases to connect students to valuable information, not readily 'Googleable.' Some of these databases include:

EBSCO Host

Use this database for a general search of EBSCO's holdings. 

Explora
Our favourite EBSCO search database for secondary students. Search among the listed categories or by keyword.

Canadian Points of View Reference Center

Resources presenting multiple points of view on a current issue. Includes the overview, point, counterpoint, and supplementary articles on Canadian issues.

Consumer Health Complete

Provides in-depth information on health and wellness issues, drugs, recent scientific research, as well as mainstream holistic perspectives.

Magazines
Access to hundreds of magazine subscriptions with topics such as animals, sports, science, food, politics, music, fashion and more! Read articles from the magazine or view the full article as a PDF.

General Magazines

Teen Magazines

Kids Magazines

Literary Reference Center

Scholarly articles, synopsis, and reviews on many popular novels, plays, and poems you might study in your English classes. Lord of the Flies or The Great Gatsby, anyone?

Poetry & Short Story Reference Center
Articles, analysis, and reviews on many poems and short stories. Find articles about classic poets like Wordsworth and contemporary poets like Jason Reynolds.

Gale Databases

Gale Power Search
Starting research and need to narrow your topic down? Enter your keyword search and scroll down to the bottom right-hand side under Analyze to locate the topic finder button. Click on the link and the keywords most used in the available resources are shown in a Topic Finder graphic. Click on subsections to narrow your focus. 

Gale Canada in Context
Canada in Context contains information on topics such as people, places, or events that are specifically connected to Canada. The information is available in magazines, journals, newspapers, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files, and other external links.

Gale Global Issues in Context
Browse current world issues and global topics like social, political, military, economic, environmental, health and cultural issues. The site provides access to maps, videos, and world news. It also includes research tools and the ability to do advanced search.

Gale Science in Context
Articles, activities, experiments, projects and reference materials examining the science behind contemporary, real world issues.

Gale World History in Context
Contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History.

Gale Reference eBooks
Provides searchable eBooks on Art, Humanities, Alternate Energy, Ancient Civilizations, 21st Century Writers, Canadian Parliamentary Guide, Drugs and Addictive Substances, Animal Life, Industrial Revolution, Canadian Provinces, Nutrition, Governments of the World, the History of Ideas, and much more!

Points to the Past
Supported by the University of Victoria Libraries, the University of British Columbia Library, and Simon Fraser University Library in Collaboration with Gale.

"Points to the Past is your gateway to a world-class collection of primary sources, made up of nearly 200 million pages of digitized historical content – maps, photos, newspapers, manuscripts, pamphlets, portraits, and much more. Researchers are free to explore a vast range of resources through Points to the Past, including Eighteenth Century and Nineteenth Century Collections Online, esteemed periodicals such as the Economist and the Financial Times, and digitized materials from the Smithsonian Institution."

Curio
Curio is CBC and Radio Canada's curated resources for students and teachers.

**See Ms. Caines for access to this!

AtoZ World Culture
One stop search for country information. Look up the history, culture, education, statistics, and more of over 170 different countries! Available in multiple languages.

AtoZ World Food
Explore recipes and food culture from over 170 different countries. More than 6000 recipes and over 9000 photos of food! Available in multiple languages.

World Book Online
Unlike like the copies of World Book on library shelves from years past, World Book Online is completely up to date and accurate. World Book provides general articles, primary documents, links to newspapers, dictionaries, maps, atlases and more. Select ADVANCED to access the version best suited for secondary students.

Focused Education Resources
Focused Education Resources offers access to many of the databases mentioned previously, including World Book, Gale, and EBSCO. It also allows access to French reference tools, NoveList, and other simplified sources.

National Geographic Kids
Allows you to explore topics that include Animals, History, Environment, Science, and more! You can find information available in audio recordings, pictures, videos, magazine articles and even books. This is a great resource that is simple to use and an ideal starting point to research a topic you may know nothing about!

The Canadian Encyclopedia
The free Canadian Encyclopedia contains over 30,000 multi-media items that you can view. Search for events, people, places, and things to find out about all things Canadian.

The Government of Canada
The Government of Canada website provides data specifically related to Canada and its government. Sites available through the Government of Canada website include:

The Atlas of Canada

This site provides access to interactive, reference, historic, and thematic maps of Canada. You can search through the map itself or search for specific locations on the map. You can even draw on it and obtain the coordinates you're researching.

Statistics Canada

Statistics Canada covers a wide variety of topics including Environment, Indigenous peoples, Crime and Justice, Health, Languages, and more. Charts, diagrams, and annual reports are all accessible. Census documents are accessible for research purposes.

KNOW BC
This site hosts the Encyclopedia of British Columbia, which showcases the province's history, facts, articles, nature guides, and more. 

MyBlueprint
The education planner for K-12, helping you set goals, record activities, write a resume and cover letter, make plans for life after high school, build a digital portfolio, and more!

Need help setting up your MyBlueprint account? See Mrs. Luteijn in the counselling centre!

NoveList
Looking for a book from a specific genre? Look no further! NoveList is a database for book lovers who are searching for a particular genre, want to read a book similar to the last book they read, or are looking for reading inspiration. Read summaries, reviews, and read-alike suggestions for your next great book, then head to the ACSS catalogue to sign it out. Found a great book that we don't have? Make sure you submit a book request form to see if we can purchase it! If we purchase it, you'll be the first to read it!

Back to the top

© 2020 by ACSS Library

CONTACT

ADDRESS

HOURS

Ms. K. Caines

Teacher-Librarian

(604) 856-2521 ext. 244

Aldergrove Community Secondary School

26850 29 Ave

Aldergrove, BC V4W 3C1

Monday - Thursday

8:00am - 4:00pm

Friday

8:00am - 3:30pm

  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Amazon
  • TikTok